Skip to main content

TDF #15: Martin remains top 20, WGG complete to 2nd rest day

TDF #15: Martin remains top 20, WGG complete to 2nd rest day

A big breakaway of 22 riders coloured a spectacular 15th stage in Tour de France. Bauke Mollema won the very fast (40.35km/h) mountain stage. Guillaume Martin finished 52nd at the line in Le Puy-en-Velay. In the general classification Martin loses a spot but he remains top 20 with a 20th spot. The 9 Wanty-Groupe Gobert riders reached the finish line in time and will enjoy a well deserved second rest day on Monday.

Guillaume Martin:

"It would have been a good day if I had started the right way. I thought the start would be very fast. I tried to put myself on the first row, but I was on the second row and it was full gas from kilometer 0. I had no space to pass, and I regret that because I could have been in the breakaway. At the first climb I tried to close the gap, but it was too late. Afterwards my legs didn't feel very good. I have been suffering all day long, but in the end I restricted the damage to the favorites. At the end of the stage I was in a group that rode a nice pace, and I could benefit of that.

Each time I finish my week with a false note. That's too bad. What has been lost is lost, but for the upcoming stage races I know what to do to improve. I also want to improve on regularity and race intelligence. In any case, the top 20 in the general classification is a good result, I hope to keep it up till Paris. "

Results Stage 15 (Laissac-Sévérac l'Église  -  Le Puy-en-Velay)

1. Bauke Mollema
2. Diego Ulissi + 00:19
3. Tony Gallopin
52. Guillaume Martin + 11:40
69. Marco Minnaard + 18:00
71. Thomas Degand
94. Guillaume Van Keirsbulck + 20:39
104. Yoann Offredo + 23:36
108. Andrea Pasqualon
120. Dion Smith + 26:32
137. Frederik Backaert
174. Pieter Vanspeybrouck + 26:45

GC after stage 15

1. Chris Froome
2. Fabio Aru + 00:18
3. Romain Bardet + 00:23
20. Guillaume Martin + 27:28
35. Thomas Degand + 1:03:56
50. Marco Minnaard + 1:23:25
93. Yoann Offredo + 2:00:31
108. Pieter Vanspeybrouck + 2:11:50
124. Dion Smith + 2:23:42
129. Frederik Backaert + 2:27:08
133. Andrea Pasqualon + 2:30:54
153. Guillaume Van Keirsbulck + 2:44:29